Identity Theft Emails Targeting Griffith Staff


We have recently received a number of reports of bogus emails being sent to Griffith staff. These emails attempt to trick you into sending hackers your personal information for the purposes of identity theft.

Whilst the emails can have differ slightly, the general gist is the same in each:

“There has been a problem with Griffith’s email service requiring it to be upgraded. Your email account will be disabled unless you reply to the email with all your personal details.”

The examples we have seen to date all have the subject “Upgrade Your Account” and refer to you as a “Griffith Webmail User”.

The email goes on to say that either a virus was found “in congestion in HTK12S Griffith Webmail folders”, or that your account was found to be sending spam.

Finally the email either has an email address, or a URL which takes you to a webpage, demanding personal information including:

  • email address
  • username
  • password
  • date of birth
  • country or region

Be aware of ANY email which asks you to send in your password. It should be considered bogus. It is NOT our practice to ask you to provide your password in an email.

We would also recommend that you are cautious of any email requesting information such as your date of birth, address, home phone number etc. Online identity theft is incredibly common and can have a major impact on the person whose identity is stolen.

If in any doubt, it is advised that you delete the email and call the business or organisation the email is from. If you have any concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the IT Security team at security@griffith.edu.au.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s