Unified Collaboration: Cathy Easte Testimonial


The Unified Collaboration project team has recently installed new video phones for Disability Services, providing enormous benefits to staff with hearing impairments, and those who work directly with them.

Disability Services Officer, Cathy Easte, provided this testimonial:

“My workdays are a bit brighter since the new Cisco Phone was installed. My workdays can see me on the phone all day and having a severe hearing impairment this certainly presents challenges with daily phone interactions.

I have had a conversation in Auslan (Australian Sign Language) with a colleague using the new videophone. Previously we could only chat via email regarding work, or wait until we were on the same campus, or plan to be on the same campus. Now we can use Sign Language and have a real conversation when needed, even though we are on different campuses. The video clarity is amazing.

The sound quality is also so much better and this certainly makes it easier to understand phone conversations. Previously I would strain all day on the phone to understand students and other staff within the university. Now the strain levels are reduced with the much increased sound quality and the added benefit of being able to lip-read other members of my team who call me with the video phones – as I can see them as well as hear it just make an enormous difference.

I also work in different offices on different campus and this can be a challenge for reception staff to keep track of extension numbers of where I am located and makes it difficult to receive student messages when I am on another campus. Now I have one number and can activate this at any campus with the extension mobility feature, in any office where I am located that has the new phone. This is truly making a difference, I no longer wait days to return to an office and find messages on the phone. I have one number that can travel with me! This certainly makes working at different campuses much easier, and slightly less annoying. I have only been using the new phone for a short time but I already wonder how I managed without it!

It is early days in our use of these phones, but we can see so many more benefits, enabling hearing-impaired or Deaf students to access signing staff or interpreters even when we are on another campuses that day. It will certainly save much travelling time. There will certainly be many benefits and I almost can’t wait till more staff receive these phones – increasing my visual access when communicating on the phone!

There is more capability with these phone and we have only seen just a start of the capacity for change. I so look forward to roll out of additional features in future (mobile connectivity for example).

Thank You Unified Collaboration Team for making my workday easier. The staff have been a tremendous assistance. The training videos are short clear and accessible making it so easy to learn to use the new phone and its additional features. So often staff training videos are not captioned and thus inaccessible – your videos are captioned and it makes a tremendous difference. It is refreshing to be included in the whole process, from a casual enquiry on the new phones many months ago to assisting with the training videos and roll out to our Disabilities team. You have done a tremendous job on the whole package – training, installation and all interactions.”

– Cathy Easte

For more information visit the Unified Collaboration website.


2 Comments on “Unified Collaboration: Cathy Easte Testimonial”

  1. […] Video phones for Disability Services The project team engaged with Bobbie Blackson (Disability Services Officer, Interpreter Coordinator) and Cathy Easte (Disability Services Officer) in regards to how the new video phones would benefit staff with hearing impairments and those who work directly with them. Based on these discussions, priority was given to those staff who would benefit significantly using the new video phones, particularly through the use of sign language. Cathy has emailed the project team to share how her new video has changed the way she works: “My workdays are a bit brighter since the new Cisco Phone was installed.” Read Cathy’s full testimonial. […]


Leave a Reply

