How to improve your iPhone’s battery life


iphone

I swear I don’t use my iPhone every minute of the day – it’s chilling beside me on the desk right now.

Aside from sending the occasional text message, taking or making the odd phone call and staying abreast of current affairs (i.e. checking social media), I hardly use it. Okay, so this may be a slight understatement, but my iPhone is definitely not overworked.

So it’s always baffled me as to why it needs to be recharged every single night. Really iPhone? What are you doing that takes so much juice?

I needed answers. And I figured you did too. So after doing some research I found two easy-peasy ways to conserve your iPhones battery. Do they work? Time will tell…

Fetch your email

It would be super tiring if you had to keep asking the same question over and over again, right?

Well, your iPhone is constantly asking your email server if it has any mail. Do you have any mail? What about now? And now? Any mail now?

Make it stop already! You can stop your iPhone from harassing your email server by simply changing the settings.

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click Mail, Contacts, Calendars
  3. Click Fetch New Data
  4. Turn off Push at the top
  5. Scroll down to Fetch
  6. Select Every 15 Minutes

Turn off background app refresh for sucky apps

Apparently, Facebook carries out ‘Background Activity’ and used 53% of my battery in the last 7 days. I had to shut that sucker down fast!

To find out which apps are a drain on your battery, go to Settings and click Battery. You will find a descending list of apps by battery ‘suckiness’.

If you spot a sucker in the list, try cutting off the apps background activity (which is what I did for Facebook):

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click General
  3. Click Background App Refresh
  4. Find the App in the list
  5. Turn it off

Further resources

Do you want more tips and tricks? Here are some helpful resources:



Leave a Reply

